See also: Printable version here, and lecture notes here: https://sealevel.info/2019-12-05.

Dec. 5, 2019  

Dear fellow North Carolinian,

My name is David Burton. I'm an IPCC Expert Reviewer, I've published in the academic literature on sea-level rise, I was appointed to the NC Sea Level Rise Impact Study Advisory Committee, I'm a member of the CO2 Coalition, a Board Member and Science Advisor to NC-20, and I created the SeaLevel.info web site, which features climate change information and on-line sea-level analysis tools.

Climate science is so politicized and commercialized that much of what you hear is nonsense.

For instance, you've heard there's a scientific consensus that CO2 emissions help warm the planet, and that's true. But do you realize there's no consensus that it's harmful?

In fact, scientists call warm periods “climate optimums,” and the best evidence is that manmade climate change is benign, and CO2 emissions are beneficial, for both mankind and natural ecosystems. I'm one of over 30,000 American scientists who've signed a “petition” attesting to that fact.

CO2 is “plant food.” Some of you might remember when terrible famines were often in the news, in places like Bangladesh. Famine was one of the great scourges of humanity, the third Horseman of the Apocalypse. The 1918 flu pandemic killed 2% of the world's population, but the global drought & famine of 1876-78 killed 3.7% of world population.

But famines have become rare, and one of the reasons is rising CO2 levels, which have increased worldwide agricultural productivity by about 20%, and made crops more drought-resilient.

The supposed harms from rising CO2 levels are just hypothetical, but the benefits are huge. Those benefits are well-measured, by thousands of agricultural studies. It's why commercial greenhouses use CO2 generators to raise CO2 levels, by about eight times as much as we've raised outdoor CO2 levels, so far: because it makes the plants much healthier, and faster-growing.